No More Nuggets

I have never been a vegetarian before. In fact, multiple people could quote me on having said “I will never give up meat” when discussing the concept of vegetarianism. I truly believed I wouldn’t until recently when I learned the truth about the meat industry. The point of this blog will be to track my continued research and education about responsible and sustainable farming as well as my (most likely hilarious) journey into become a vegetarian.

Today was my third day on a meat free diet and so far I haven’t been missing meat all that much. I don’t really think it’s been long enough yet for me to notice the absence of it. That being said, I have been making a conscious effort to introduce new forms of protein into my meals. Let’s get something straight right now- I do not like tofu and I do not like beans. I am curious to see if this is still true at the end of my first month sans meat. The dining hall at BU is great about providing vegetarian options, but they almost all are loaded with my two worst enemies- beans and tofu.

Today I grabbed up this tasty looking grilled tofu.

By tasty looking, I obviously meant resembling canned dog food and incredibly nauseating. After an intense staring contest with the lump of tofu, which I think I won, I jabbed my fork into it and took a bite. Chew. Chew. Pause. Chew. Not bad! Although the seasoning the dining hall used was a little too aggressive in the salt department, the tofu itself did not offend or upset me at all. I stirred it into my rice and onions and gobbled it down. Maybe this won’t be as hard as I thought.

But actually, it probably will be.

Leave a comment